Posted by Rick Taylor on Jan 05, 2018
At our weekly meeting on January 5, 2018, President Amanda Tietze welcomed the 56 members and 3 guests attending the meeting. President Amanda then asked everyone celebrating a January birthday to please stand and be recognized.
Rotarian Raquel Raderchak gave the Invocation.
Secretary Suzette Matthews welcomed the following guests to the meeting: Corey Minor Smith (speaker); Ron Ponder (guest of Frank Fleischer); Esosa Osa (guest of speaker).
The "Happy News" was then provided by the following:
  • Theresa Blocher - in celebration of Dave Schrade filling in as a greeter for her when she is gone;
  • Dave Schrade - happy that the accounting firm in which he was a partner, Smith, Barta & Company, has now been acquired by Maloney+Novotny as of January 1, 2018;
  • Bob Winther - in celebration of his oldest granddaughter, Claire, who accomplished a 36 out of 36 on her ACT Test. She is in the top 1% with this score;
  • Anne Richards - in celebration of her daughter, McKenzie, being accepted at OSU and being awarded the Moral Scholarship for Diversity and Inclusion. This scholarship is a paid four year scholarship for McKenzie;
  • Dave Beule - in encouragement to come out to First Friday and stop into Canton Brewing while there;
  • President Amanda Tietze - in great appreciation to Bruce Hale for shining up and fixing the Rotary bell. Thanks Bruce for your service on our bell!
  • Secretary Suzette Matthews - in recognition of her dad, Ed Frank who is a Paul Harris Fellow, for being able to come home from the hospital after being admitted for blood clots in his leg and chest on New Years Day.
President Elect Michelle Mullaly asked everyone if they have not already done so to please consider donating to the Canton Rotary Charitable Fund.
January Speaker Chair Stephanie Werren then introduced her speaker, Corey Minor Smith, Canton City Councilwoman.
President Amanda then concluded the meeting with the following announcement:
  • next week's speaker will be Trina Cutter, the president/CEO of Western Reserve Public Media.