Posted by Rick Taylor on Mar 08, 2019
At the Friday, March 8, 2019, Rotary meeting, President Michelle Mullaly welcomed 49 members and 4 guests to the the meeting.
Rotarian Bill Maddox provided the Invocation for the meeting.
Congratulations to President Elect Mark Rojek for having the winning 50/50 ticket worth $46.00.
Secretary Suzette Matthews welcomed the following guests to the meeting: Kitty Burgett (McKinley Speech and Debate Assistant Coach); Guinevere Berrie and Averi Allison (Four Way Speech Contestants); Alex Dowell (guest of Stephanie Werren).
The "Happy News" was provided by the following:
  • PP Dan Matthews - to celebrate that he and his wife, Suzette, survived a car accident on Sunday, March 3rd. He is grateful to be here and be alive!
  • President Elect Mark Rojek - in thanks for Dan and Suzette surviving their car accident;
  • Bruce Schorsten - to wish McKinley and GlenOak girls basketball teams good luck in the playoffs;
  • President Michelle Mullaly - in celebration of her son getting a paid internship in Florida.
The meeting started with Four Way Test Speech Chairman Jeff Scott welcoming the final contestant, Averi Allison, to the podium to give her speech. Averi had been on a college visit on February 22, 2019, when the other contestants provided their speeches. See the results in the article above. 
Past President Rick Taylor then came to the podium to provide an update and a power point our club's team in the Junior Achievement "Bowl-a-Thon" Rotary Challenge which took place on March 2, 2019. *Please see story above for all of the details pertaining to this event.
Golf Committee Co-Chair Bill Liber announced the first committee meeting for this year's annual golf outing, which is scheduled for June 28, 2019, was to take place immediately following the conclusion of the Rotary meeting. If you were unable to stay for the meeting and are interested in volunteering, please contact Bill or the Rotary office.
Vice President Drew Pelger then announced that nomination forms for this year's "Rotarian of the Year" would be available during that day's meeting and the March 15th meeting. Each Rotarian has the opportunity to nominate ONE individual they believe has the qualities for this award. Please keep your nomination private. If you are unable to attend a meeting to cast your vote, you may go to the website and download a ballot. Nomination deadline is Friday, March 15, 2019. The ballots will then be tabulated and the top three "vote getters" will be announced in the Rotogram. Members  will then have an opportunity to vote for one of these three candidates. The new "Rotarian of the Year" will be announced and recognized at an upcoming meeting. **You cannot vote for any of the Executive Board members -- President Michelle Mullaly, President Elect Mark Rojek, Vice President Drew Pelger, Secretary Suzette Matthews, Treasurer Tom Clevenger OR any past winner -- Paul White, Dale Holwick (deceased), Mike Gregorek, Bob Pattison, Dave Ewing, Dan Matthews or Steve Fettman.
President Elect Mark Rojek then took the opportunity to discuss a new category of membership, "Organizational Membership". Canton Rotarians are encouraged to use this new tool to recruit potential new members. A list of possible targets for Organizational Membership was provided. See Mark  or Membership Chair PP Dan Matthews for more information.
President Michelle concluded the meeting with the following announcements:
  • next week's speaker will be Robert Hall from Affiinity Advisory Network;
  • reminder if you would like to volunteer for this year's Annual Golf Outing, please remember to stay after for the committee meeting.
The following will receive a makeup for attending the Golf committee meeting held on Friday, March 8, 2019:  Co-Chair Bill Liber, Terri Barry, Bruce Schorsten, Co-Chair Brad Carpenter and PP Rick Taylor.
The following turned in makeups during Friday's meeting: Jerry Ortman (3-Plain).